On 10 May 2021, the first plenary meeting in 2021 of the National Information Security Standardisation Technical Committee (TC 260) was held in the Wuhan National Cybersecurity Talent and Innovation Base. The meeting, whose theme was “cybersecurity standards leading the sound development of digital economy”, also marked the beginning of the annual TC 260 conference week. ZHAO Zeliang, the Deputy Director of Cyberspace Administration of China (CAC), and TIAN Shihong, Director of the Standardisation Administration of China (SAC), attended the meeting and delivered keynote speeches. Leaders of all working groups of TC 260 and more than 900 representatives from 370 domestic and foreign enterprises, scientific research institutions, and universities attended this plenary meeting.

According to ZHAO Zeliang, China’s efforts will focus on (i) promoting the integration of cybersecurity standards and platform economy rules; (ii) carrying out an analysis of standardisation demands, and a prospective research on standards for new technologies and new application fields around the Cybersecurity Law, the Data Security Law and the Personal Information Protection Law; and (iii) promoting the development of new technologies and applications, such as intelligent connected vehicles and artificial intelligence.

It is estimated by SAC that currently there are 322 cybersecurity standards. In 2020, MIIT also issued a guide to the construction of the network data security standards system in 2020, focusing on the protection of personal information, network platforms and critical information infrastructure.

The Conference Week lasted for four days in total, during which the working groups of TC 260 discussed on the ongoing development and revision of 73 national cybersecurity standards, conducted the technical review of 86 new standardisation project proposals, and exchanges views on how to improve the sub-field standards system of the working groups.

The text of the original Chinese keynote speeches is available at:



TC 260 is a technical committee established by SAC to conduct work related to China’s information security standards. There are seven working groups under TC 260, namely:

  • WG1 Working Group on Information Security Standards System and Coordination
  • WG3 Working Group on Cryptography
  • WG4 Working Groupon Authentication and Authorisation
  • WG5 Working Groupon Information Security Assessment
  • WG6 Working Groupon Communication Security Standards
  • WG7 Working Groupon Information Security Management
  • SWG-BDS Big Data Security Standards Task Force

TC 260 has published the English version of GB/T 35273-2020 Personal Information Security Specification and Cybersecurity Review Measures. SESEC will continue monitoring the deliverables published by TC 260, and keep analysing China’s laws, regulations and policies in the field of cybersecurity.